SHOOTERS AND CHASERS : A Good Deal

SHOOTERS AND CHASERS by Lenny Kleinfeld is one of the funniest books I have read.  I have never done this before but this is such a good deal I must mention it.  Amazon has SHOOTERS AND CHASERS for the Kindle at the give-away price of $3.99.  For those who do not have a Kindle, Amazon offers a free application for the PC that allows everyone to read books formatted for the e-reader.

SHOOTERS & CHASERS by Lenny Kleinfeld has everything one would want in a thriller. The shooters are (sort of) identified right at the beginning. The chasers, Chicago Homicide detectives Mark Bergman and John Dunegan enter the scene soon after. The shooters are sociopaths and the chasers are the kind of characters that I want to meet again.

The book opens in August, 2002 with Meelo Garcia prowling restlessly in a motel room. He can’t leave because Oscar told him he can’t.

In the second chapter, Naguib Darwahab, a Chicago cabbie originally from Cairo, picks up famed architect Wilson Willets. As Willets is walking toward his house, he is killed by a mugger. Darwahab risks his life by scratching the mugger down his left arm but the murderer runs off and there is nothing that can be done to help Willets.

From that point the books takes off, introducing a cast of characters that is large but who are so distinct that the reader has no problem keeping everyone straight. The plot moves from street crime to the very richest of the rich in Los Angeles and a contest sponsored by the Los Angeles Fine Arts Museum. Along the way there are other murders, a mysterious Englishman, assassins, a public defender who suggests that the murder has elements of the Kennedy assassination,  Oscar, and two police forces, Chicago and Los Angeles, that are not made to look crooked or inept. And…the book is funny. Kleinfeld writes wonderful dialogue even when the dialogue is interior. I don’t know how many times I had to stop reading and laugh.

This is a book that will appeal to just about anyone who likes mysteries and thrillers.   SHOOTER & CHASERS is a wonderful way to spend a day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to SHOOTERS AND CHASERS : A Good Deal

  1. Beth, you’re right. SHOOTERS & CHASERS is a terrific way to spend the day, and I’m glad to hear it’s available for the Kindle. Thanks for letting people know. I’m looking forward to the sequel, which I hope will be out next year.

  2. Lenny says:

    Beth–Gracias! Can’t tell you how much I appreciate this. Though the novel has acquired many tens of devoted fans, you stand out as a paragon of persistent kindness and support.

    Spelvie–Babe, I’m doin’ what I can to satisfy. The rough draft of the sequel is finally finally finally close to completion. I’m aiming to polish it to a high gloss and have it in my agent’s hands by the end of this summer. If she remembers my name, and reads the manuscript, a 2013 pub date is not an entirely unreasonable fantasy.

  3. Beth says:

    Well,as two of your tens of fans, Georgette and I are fortunate to have found you. I will certainly be waiting eagerly for the fantasy to become a reality (book) or something floating through the cloud. I am waiting for a book that is going to require me to turn on my Kindle for the first time. 2013 sounds about right.

Leave a Reply

