TEN BEST BOOKS OF 2011???

Every book reviewed is one I have enjoyed in 2011.  So, in the spirit of end of the year list-making, I have created a list of books that went in a different direction or addressed a societal problem.  It is amazing how many people still think that a mystery means Agatha Christie.

Today, I am listing the titles and authors.  Over the next few days, I will explain the choices.

A VINE IN THE BLOOD – Leighton Gage

PREY ON PATMOS – Jeffrey Siger

LONG GONE – Alafair Burke

GHOST HERO – S. J. Rozan

THE CALLING -Allison Bruce

A SIMPLE ACT OF VIOLENCE – R.J. Ellory

LITTLE ELVISES – Timothy Hallinan

WRECKAGE – Michael Robotham

BLOODLINE – Mark Billingham

THESE DARK THINGS – Jan Merete Weiss

STOLEN LIVES – Jassy Mackenzie

LUCIFER’S TEARS – James Thompson

THE PRIEST – Gerard O’Donovan

CITY OF DREADFUL NIGHT – Peter Guttridge

OCTOBER KILLINGS – Wessel Ebersohn

TRINITY SIX – Charles Cumming

EYES OF THE INNOCENT – Brad Parks

BURY YOUR DEAD – Louise Penny

THOUSAND CUTS – Simon Lelic

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to TEN BEST BOOKS OF 2011???

  1. Wow, that’s quite an honor to be included among your choices for Best Books of 2011. Not only do I thank you from the very bottom of my deep, dark, mysterious heart, but Chief Inspector Andreas Kaldis sends his very best and wishes you and yours Xronia Pola for the New Year and beyond.

  2. Beth says:

    I am going to be posting why books made the list, a list so very difficult to compile. Your perceived ability too see into the future is daunting. Readers in Greece must be concerned as they wait to learn what is going to happen to them next.

  3. I’ll let them know in June with “Target: Tinos” :))

  4. SJ Rozan says:

    Thanks, Beth! What a list to be on — I’m flattered.

    • Beth says:

      I have read all the Lydia Chin/Bill Smith books. My right hand is somewhat out of commission so I am going to post a summary of SHANGHAI MOON, a book that also ties times and places. History is relevant to our time and no place is too far away for secrets to remain hidden.

      This is from Fantastic Fiction –
      With The Shanghai Moon, S. J. Rozan returns to her award-winning, critically acclaimed, and much-loved characters Lydia Chin and Bill Smith in the first new novel
      in the series in seven years. Estranged for months from fellow P.I. Bill Smith, Chinese-American private investigator Lydia Chin is brought in by colleague and former mentor Joel Pilarsky to help with a case that crosses continents, cultures, and decades. In Shanghai, excavation has unearthed a cache of European jewelry dating back to World War II, when Shanghai was an open city providing safe haven for thousands of Jewish refugees. The jewelry, identifed as having belonged to one such refugee – Rosalie Gilder – was immediately stolen by a Chinese official who fled to New York City. Hired by a lawyer specializing in the recovery of Holocaust assets, Chin and Pilarsky are to find any and all leads to the missing jewels.However, Lydia soon learns that there is much more to the story than they’ve been told: The Shanghai Moon, one of the world’s most sought after missing jewels, reputed to be worth millions, is believed to have been part of the same stash. Before Lydia can act on this new information, Joel Pilarsky is murdered, Lydia is fired from the case, and Bill Smith finally reappears on the scene. Now Lydia and Bill must unravel the truth about the Shanghai Moon and the events that surrounded its disappearance sixty years ago during the chaos of war and revolution, if they are to stop more killings and uncover the truth of what is going on today.

  5. Maxine says:

    Amazingly, I’ve only read two books on this list – Rupture/1000 Cuts which I thought excellent, and Lucifer’s Tears which I put in the solid read category rather than excellent. I have read other books by quite a few authors on the list, though, so there is some hope for me.

  6. Beth says:

    My choices for the list came after a lot of consideration. I don’t recommend books, I set out the reasons why I like it. You should share your list here.

  7. Pingback: Jassy Mackenzie and Wessel Ebersohn on Murder by Type’s Best of 2011 List | Umuzi

  8. I feel so honoured that Stolen Lives appears on your list and is in such esteemed company! Beth, Jade and I say many, many thanks for such a wonderful blog!

  9. Beth says:

    You are welcome. I am looking forward to the next book in the series. My list represents the group of books I find to have addressed issues that go beyond the mystery. I generally read four books a week; there are some very good writers to be discovered.

    I hope the blogs encourages readers to read the books reviewed.

  10. Lil Gluckstern says:

    I like your choices, and my list of books to check out just got longer. It’s time to go to my TBR bookcase 🙂

  11. Beth says:

    Remember when the only way to discover new books was to browse the shelves of the library? The bookstores were small and generally in the shopping district. Now all we need to find anything anywhere is a reliable internet connection.

    On occasion, I am tempted to let the blog drift away so I can just read. On the other hand, it is because of the blog that I have so many books.

  12. If your efforts are paying off, continue spending more time consistently and genuinely interacting with the new online community.
    At under 10 seconds, these video ads almost have to be subliminal, especially if those video times end up going lower.
    With that in mind, though, most of the food you buy
    at the grocery store should not have a label.

Leave a Reply

