INTERVIEWS/OPINIONS/RANDOM PIECES

There are any number of very interesting interviews with authors, opinions (some of the opinions being mine), and random pieces to be found in newspapers, magazines, and in all manner of places on the web.

One of my favorite sources of wonderful things to put on this blog come from Murder Is Everywhere, the blog of some of my favorite writers.  On Sunday, Tim Hallinan, the author of the Poke Rafferty series set in Bangkok, writes about Thailand and all manner of other things.

Leighton Gage, who lives in Brazil, posts about life in that country without ever mentioning his series with the wonderful Mario Silva.

Tuesday, Cara Black gives wonderful insights into France andarticularly Paris.  The twelfth book in the Aimee Leduc series arrived in bookstores yesterday, March 1.  Set in the ’90’s, Aimee and her partner, Rene, are on the leading edge of the rapidly developing internet.

Yrsa Sigurdardottir has Wednesday covered with posts about Iceland, posts that are often laugh-out-loud-funny, and miles apart from the serious crime in her novels.

Michael Sears and Stan Trollip, who write as Michael Stanley, are natives of South Africa and write wonderfully insightful posts about a country of which I know too little.

Dan Waddell, a Londoner, is in charge on Friday and I don’t think there are too many cities that  are as fascinating as London.  Dan builds great stories on things like ribbons tied to a fence.

The week ends with Jeffrey Siger on Saturday, writing about life in Greece, especially life on Mykonos.  It seems that it is the rare comment in which Jeff can’t find a pun so I learn and laugh while I am doing it.

There are any number of very interesting interviews with authors, opinion pieces (some of the opinions being mine), and random pieces to be found in newspapers, magazines, and in all manner of places on the web.

One of the things I have come across is the website I Write Like. This wonderful site is a terrific way to waste some time and convince yourself that your writing skills are comparable to a successful and revered writer.

I composed the following:

As I sit here, composing deep thought, laundry is piled around my feet.  There is something very freeing about being able to ignore dirty clothes.

I pasted it into   http://iwl.me/

and learned that I write like J. K Rowling.  The second time I submitted it, I was compared to Kurt Vonnegut.

If I had a choice I would like to write like J.K. Rowling, have her imagination, and the billions of dollars she has earned.  Bet she makes more money than Vonnegut.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

