LOOKING FORWARD WITH GRATITUDE

When I started this blog, I had no idea how long I would do it.  I didn’t have a clear idea of what form the blog would take.  I started by writing about books I read and liked. I learned, eventually, how to put an image on the page and just kept doing it.

I thoroughly blogging and would probably continue even if no one read it.  I didn’t know how people would find it.  Much to my shock, people did find it and, in the six months since the first post on June 26, I am quite close to 10,000 visits to the blog.

To date, no author has berated me for making a hash of the point of his/her work.  Some authors, especially Leighton Gage and Jeffrey Siger have been very supportive.  It was Leighton who planted the seed that led to this when, on an Amazon discussion, he explained that mid-list authors do not receive any help from their publishers in making their work known to potential readers.  My daughter heard me ranting about the unfairness of such a policy and suggested I stop talking about it and try to do something about it.  She presented me with the form of the blog, told me to name it, and to get posting.

Unfortunately, I have no way to know if the blog has succeeded in its purpose – getting support for writers who truly deserve a wide readership and significant sales of their books.  In case it makes a difference, I will keep blogging.

I am old enough to still be taken by surprise by the internet and the ease by which people are connected.  I have something called “sitemeter” attached to the blog and it is a wonderful toy.  It has a map and colored dots that indicate the locations of the people who accessed the blog.  It also has a list of locations that also shows which posts people have viewed.  In the last two days,  there have been viewers from many states in the US and from Canada and the United Kingdom.   But I am continually surprised that people  from Portugal, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Australia, Qatar, Spain, and Turkey find it.  Google has a translation ability so two different posts were each translated into Turkish or Arabic today.  I find it amazing.

The blog keeps me intellectually active, a very good thing.  I have somewhat limited mobility so I am not able to be in a high school classroom which definitely keeps one intellectually active.  I am grateful to those who, by visiting the blog, make me work hard to make sense when I put words on the screen.

I wish everyone a year filled with positive experiences, positive relationships, and positive thinking.

Thank you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to LOOKING FORWARD WITH GRATITUDE

  1. Beth–
    Congratulations on your successful first year; awesome amount of work you put into this thing, Teach.

    I believe I speak for a great many authors in thanking you for your enthusiasm and erudition. (And I’m not [entirely] defining “erudition” as a favorable review of my work.)

    Have a great 2011.

    –Lenny

  2. Beth says:

    At what point in 2011 will I be able to review the sequel to SHOOTERS AND CHASERS?

    Anyone who has read SHOOTERS AND CHASERS will line up for the next in the series as soon as you get the word out.

    Anyone who has not read SHOOTERS AND CHASERS really must do so. The January doldrums is the perfect time. Reading at home is the best idea. The book is so funny that, as I was reading it, I had to stop, take a breath and wipe away the tears.

    Of course, reading it while in a doctor’s waiting room might do positive things for blood pressure. Reading it while on public transportation might increase personal space as people move away from the person laughing loud enough to be heard over the sound of the subway. In both cases, the book should be held in such a way that the title can be easily seen so that a) people seek out the book for their own enjoyment and b) people will know that they need not be afraid of this person who is laughing hysterically.

    Lenny, books like your’s definitely contribute to my enthusiasm.

  3. Beth–

    The earliest possible point in 2011 you might review a sequel is sometime in 2012.

    I recently got the first, insanely complicated, third of the book in working order, and am proceeding with the sanely complicated remainder as fast as my little fingers can caress the keys.

    Onward,
    Lenny

  4. Beth says:

    Of course, this reply had me laughing too hard to respond immediately. That was, in part, because the laughing switched to the cough that sounds like a bull is dying.

    See why I can’t read your book in public?

    I’m still laughing. Every time I read that first sentence, I start all over again.

  5. kathy d. says:

    This is a book I must read–and soon.

    I just finished “The Smell of the Night,” a Camilleri/Montalbano book. I laughed so hard in parts that my neighbors must think strange things are happening in my house.

    Have a good new year of great–and funny–books.

Leave a Reply

