VOICES – Arnaldur Indridison

Kathy Delaney is the guest reviewer today.  In her own words: I am an award winning quilter who teaches nationally – internationally even.   I am a quilter, designer, author, quilt judge, teacher and lecturer. I work in a quilt shop locally.  I am an avid reader of mysteries, favoring audio books, especially as I drive to my next teaching gig.

Kathy’s review:

VOICES by Arnaldur Indridason
The inside jacket says, “The Christmas rush is at its peak in a grand Reykjavik hotel when Inspector Erlendur Sveinsson is called in to investigate a murder. The hotel Santa has been stabbed, and Erlendur and his detective colleagues have no shortage of suspects between hotel staff and the international travelers staying for the holidays.
But then a shocking secret surfaces. As Christmas Day approaches, Erlendur must deal with his difficult daughter, pursue a possible romantic interest, and untangle a long-buried web of malice and greed to find the murderer.”

I never could gather much empathy for the characters. I was irritated with Erlendur’s daughter who is a whiner, eager to blame her whole life on her father. He didn’t force her into the decisions she made with her life – he’s not to blame!

I enjoy it when an author presents me with all the information I need to solve the mystery – providing I’m paying attention. In this book, the author kept secrets (which I resent)!

“Erlendur put the receiver down and picked up his mobile again. He didn’t recognize the voice, but the man introduced himself and started his account. he had barely begun before Erlendur’s suspicions were confirmed and he figured it all out.” This is the way the story unfolded throughout. I resent it when the author keeps secrets.

I know there was a lot of buzz about this book. But I can only give it a mediocre rating – maybe 3 1/2 stars.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to VOICES – Arnaldur Indridison

  1. Condorena says:

    There were a few nice twists and turns in this book, but I know what you mean about the secrets. The daughter just follows in her mother’s footsteps when she blames everything on good old dad. She grew up hearing that. It reminds me of a scene in A Wallander TV show when asked if he was a good father. He said he was a crap dad. He was not there for his daughter either in his opinion.

  2. Pingback: AUTHORS I – M | MURDER by TYPE

Leave a Reply

